Young Buffalo

After years on the music scene, five-piece rock band Young Buffalo have released their debut full-length album House through Votiv Music. The band, based out of Oxford, Mississippi began with the group’s songwriters Ben Yarbrough and Jim Barrett who wrote music together as teenagers. They began going by Young Buffalo in 2009. The band now includes drummer Tim Burkhead, bassist Andrew Guinn and keyboardist Will Eubanks.

House is an 11-track album produced by Dave Schiffman (Haim, Weezer) aims to establish the five-piece act as a band as unique as the town where they started. The album sees Young Buffalo embracing their pop roots while expanding the arrangements. They filled out the instrumentation with singing synth lines and unique syncopation to push their work into new territory. Though album may contain some dark subject matter, it is presented as relatable and earnest.

In addition to the album, they have now released their new music video for the single “My Place.” The song is breezy, with a head-bobbing chorus that is easy to sing. It is a fun song, perfect for the slow warming of spring to summer.

Watch “My Place” below:

An older single, but just as fun is last month’s “No Idea”. The video is sweet and silly, a near-cautionary tale featuring a naive muppet robot throwing a party for the little boy that created him. The song is pure indie pop and feels joyous despite some of the lyrics [“It’s going to take a little time/You’re going to toe that line…It’s going to suck the life right out of your eyes”].

Check out “No Idea” below:


Catch them on tour with Matt Pond:

May 7 at Revery Lounge in Omaha, NE
May 8 at Duck Room at Blueberry Hill in St. Louis, MO
May 9 at Lincoln Hall in Chicago, IL
May 11 at Lee’s Palaza in Toronto, ON
May 12 at Grog Shop in Cleveland, OH
May 13 at Club Café in Pittsburgh, PA
May 14 at Union Transfer in Philadelphia, PA
May 15 at Bowery Ballroom in New York, NY

Leave a Reply