music / Music Videos

Parquet Courts Release Sunbathing Animals.

Parquet Courts have been teasing us for a while with their single Sunbathing Animals. The first glimpse was released as sheet music, with rumors a 7″ to be released on April 19th in celebration of Record Store Day.

animal

For those who are not so musically inclined you are in luck! The video of Sunbathing Animals, directed by Andy Capper is being released today, via Noisey.

Sunbathing Animals is what seems to be a very simple black and white video, running just shy of four minutes.  The focus being on Andrew Savage’s (singer/guitarist) cat named Frida.  While sitting and watching this two-year old cat dance throughout the living room you are overcome with a great feeling of suspense while you wait for the twist.  It is not until you get about 2 minutes in that you realize that there is beauty in the simplicity of watching life pass by and that the only twist is that you are missing it.  The videos end result is simple, pure and quite refreshing.  Savage discussed the some of the “studio magic” in an interview with Noisey.

“Every afternoon [Frida] takes a nap in that spot, but that afternoon she knew she was being observed. So I created a special tea that I found on a cat lady website that was full of herbs that could allegedly make a cat sleepy. You got some valerian root, some poppy seed extract, skullflower caps, chamomile…. I gave that to her and she was kinda being a bit more chill but she was still moving around a bit too much. And I guess we basically made the sofa area of my apartment into a cat paradise in order to get her to perform. We had bird songs playing on the iPhone, the window was open for bird noises outside. We put some food on the couch and then finally some cat nip.”

<iframe width=”640″ height=”360″ src=”//www.youtube.com/embed/mhPOZXLmTKA?feature=player_detailpage” frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

 

The band will be on tour starting May. We will see you in San Francisco!!!

For more information about Parquet Courts, and to get the full  version of the sheet music,  visit them at http://sunbathinganimal.com/

PARQUET COURTS TOUR DATES:

Thu. May 22 – Calgary, AB @ Commonwealth Bar

Fri. May 23 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir w/ Naomi Punk

Sat. May 24 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret w/ Naomi Punk

Sun. May 25 – George, WA @ Sasquatch Music Festival

Tue. May 27 – San Francisco, CA @ Independent w/ CCR Headcleaner

Wed. May 28 – Los Angeles, CA @ Roxy

Thu. May 29 – Austin, TX @ Red 7 w/ Radioactivity

Mon. June 2 – Houston, TX @ Fitzgerald’s w/ Radioactivity

Tue. June 3 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada w/ Swearin’

Wed. June 4 – Memphis, TN @ The Hi-Tone w/ Protomartyr, True Sons of Thunder

Fri. June 6 – Columbus, OH @ Double Happiness w/ Protomartyr

Sat. June 7 – Detroit, MI @ PJ’s Lager House w/ Protomartyr, Tyvek

Sun. June 8 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern w/ Protomartyr, Tyvek

Mon. June 9 – Montreal, QC @ Il Motore w/ Protomartyr, Tyvek

Tue. June 10 – Boston, MA @ TT the Bears w/ Protomartyr

Wed. June 11 – Brooklyn, NY @ Sugarhill Supper Club w/ Protomartyr, Future Punx, Xerox

Fri. June 21 – Glasgow, UK @ SWG3

Sat. June 22 – Liverpool, UK @ Kazimier

Sun. June 23 – Birmingham, UK @ Birmingham Institute

Tue. June 25 – London, UK @ ULU

Wed. June 26 – Oxford, UK @ Oxford Academy 2

Sun. June 29 – Marmande, FR @ Garorock

Sun. July 6 – Rotselaar, BE @ Rock Werchter

Mon. July 7 – Groningen, NE @ Vera Project

Tue. July 8 – Paris, FR @ Le Divan Du Monde

Wed. July 9 – La Rochelle, FR @ La Sirene Club

Thu. July 10 – Bilbao, SP @ Bilbao BBK

Fri. July 11 – Lisbon, PO @ Alive Festival

Sat. July 12 – Russelheim, DE @ Phono Pop

Wed. July 16 – Berlin, DE @ Cassiopaia

Thu. July 17 – Grafenhainichen, DE @ Melt

Fri. July 18 – Dublin, IE @ Longitude Festival

Sun. July 20 – Suffolk, UK @ Latitude Festival

Fri. July 25 – Niigata, JP @ Naeba Ski Resort (Fuji Rock Festival)

Sat. Aug. 2 – Chicago, IL @ Lollapalooza

Sun. Aug. 3 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s