After more than 600 concerts around the globe, five studio albums and a variety of live releases over the years, the Scandinavian garage, free jazz trio, The Thing — Mats Gustafsson (bass, baritone, tenor and soprano saxophones), Ingebrigt Håker Flaten (electric bass) and Paal Nilssen-Love (drums) — are excited to present their sixth studio album, BOOT! As the first album on their new label, The Thing Records, and first studio album following their collaborative release with Neneh Cherry, 2012’s The Cherry Thing (Smalltown Supersound), BOOT! is The Thing’s most hard-hitting, open and epic release to date.

Recorded over three intense days, BOOT! breathes life and energy, capturing the deep riffs and distorted activities of the electric bass, the attack of the snare drum, the depth of the bass sax and epic lines of the tenor sax. It marks an important development in the trio’s endless search of musical poetic meltdowns with its definite rock sound and open playing. Throughout, they transform their roots, combine their own free jazz and punk aesthetics with elements of Ethiopian music, soul, funk and noise, and re-work album-oriented material by jazz icons, John Coltrane and Duke Ellington.

After forming in 1999 as a Don Cherry recording project, The Thing soon established themselves as one of the most important European jazz groups, playing a variety of compositions, including material by PJ Harvey, Albert Ayler, The White Stripes, Steve Lacy, The Stooges, The Sonics, The Cramps, Lightning Bolt and The Ex. They transformed the music of these other artists into a contemporary context, making it their own. As individuals or as a group, they have collaborated with those including, Peter Brötzmann, Sonic Youth, Jim O’Rourke, Thurston Moore, David Grubbs, Eye, The Ex, Pat Metheny, Arto Lindsay, Steve Reid, Kieran Hebden, Merzbow, Christian Marclay, The Nomads, Guy Picciotto, Neneh Cherry and more, all activities fueling the music of The Thing to become what the group is all about.

With dedicated fans in the rock, noise and jazz communities, BOOT! takes The Thing’s music to new, uncompromising levels and continues to solidify The Thing’s special and important position in the contemporary independent music world.

The Thing is:

Mats Gustafsson – bass, baritone, tenor and soprano saxophones

Ingebrigt Håker Flaten – electric bass

Paal Nilssen-Love – drums

BOOT! tracklisting:

01. India (John Coltrane )

02. ReBOOT (The Thing)

03. Heaven (Duke Ellington arr. Mats Gustafsson)

04. Red River (Ingebrigt Håker Flaten)

05. BOOT (The Thing)

06. Epilog (The Thing)

Leave a Reply